Protein Haul @ Target & Homemade Almond Milk!


Hello everyone. I set-out on a protein hunt at Target this past week BECAUSE my body really needs protein. I realized this when a small part of my incision from April opened up after it had already appeared to heal. Pretty crazy stubborn thing it is being, so consuming at least 46g of protein per day for my body to heal is my goal.

Oatmeal- 4g of protein per pack
Granola Cereal- 14g of protein per serving
Chobani Greek Yogurt- 14g of protein per cup
Almonds- 6g of protein per 1/4 cup
Chickpeas- 6g of protein per 1/2 cup
Hormel Chili Vegetarian with Beans- 11g of protein per cup
Canned Tuna- 10g of protein per 1/2 cup
French Green Lentils- 9g of protein per 1/4 cup
Garlic & Olive Oil Quinoa- 9g of protein per 3/4 cup

My first protein adventure was making homemade almond milk– many more adventures to come!

SAMSUNG
Older picture, but I need my strength :)

Ok, so I splurged on this big container of almonds, but hey it is a better deal to buy in bulk! With my ileostomy I cannot eat nuts. Wah Wah. Instead of crying about it in a corner, I’ve decided to make homemade almond milk.

Homemade almond milk is way better than buying it from the store because you avoid unnecessary ingredients and a butt load of sugar!!! I like to sweeten it with a local farmer’s market honey. All it takes is:

– 1 cup of almonds soaked in 3 cups of water for 12 hours or overnight.
– Once your almonds are all plumped up and softened you should drain the water and rinse them. Proceed to add 3 fresh cups of water to the almond bowl.
– Now for the fun part. Scoop spoonfuls of the water and almonds mixture into your juicer* and watch frothy milk produce in  a blink of an eye! :)  Makes 3 cups.

*Online there are recipes for using a blender instead, but I used an omega juicer.

Nutritional Facts for 1 cup:

90 calories (35 from fat)
4g total fat
13g carbohydrates (1g fiber, 12g sugar)
2g protein*

*1 cup of raw almonds has 24g of protein, but since I cannot eat them raw I can drink 3 cups of raw almond milk and get 6g of protein. It is substantially less protein, but I enjoy the taste of this milk better than dairy AND having it as an alternative to water to keep hydrated.

Link: http://www.wholefoodsmarket.com/recipe/homemade-almondmilk

2 thoughts on “Protein Haul @ Target & Homemade Almond Milk!

Have a flowerista day! ✿

