Old Sayings My Grandma Taught Me


Most older people live in a different world than generation y people do now. One thing that has changed dramatically between generations is the language we use. Generation Y use abbreviations like “lol” and “wtf” and prefer to repeat song lyrics like “yolo” and “started from the bottom now I’m here” in conversations with friends.

SAMSUNG
Cheesin’ with digital media, my smart phone!

This is because we are more familiar with digital and electronic technology. We use cell phones to text, social media to blurt out short updates about our lives, and look up to several media platforms like music and reality T.V.

Two sayings I have had my Grandma say to me over the years stand out:

1) “Make hay while the sun shines”

2) “The squeaky wheel gets the grease”

If I were to use these sayings in front of my peers they would be like “huh?” For some reason we don’t use old sayings like these anymore.

Make hay while the sun shines means to make the most of your opportunities while you can. This is an excellent way to live life. It will keep you in-check to live the life you want to lead and motivate you to not waste your time while trying to do it. This saying reminds me to say “yes” to opportunities I have when I’m not feeling the best or in other words letting my illness hold me back from living my life.

The squeaky wheel gets the grease means the problem that is most noticeable will get fixed first. I can use this saying to live my life better a couple of ways. One way would be to pick my problems wisely. For example I usually think my bag leaking is terribly annoying, but I could frame it as not a problem, deal with it, and focus on a more productive problem like cooking a new recipe. Another way is if I’m having a problem with something in my life I could be louder about it to get the help that I need. I could use this way if I need help doing a fixer-upper project or if I’m feeling alone I can reach out to a friend.

What are some old sayings your elders have graced you with? How do you use old sayings in your life? What generation y sayings are your favorite?

Have a flowerista day! ✿

