Farmers Market meal ideas 


Farmers market haul

My first farmers market of tha year! It’s the beginning of bountiful beautiful food time. And I love it! For less than $15 I bought a head of butterhead lettuce (easy on the gut), a head of romaine lettuce, a bag of spinach, a bunch of radishes, a bunch of asparagus, a bunch of green onions, and a cranberry orange super delicious scone.

Truth be told, I would not have bought radishes or asparagus in the store and I would not have been able to buy the butterhead lettuce in the store.

At farmers markets, I buy things I normally would not buy and the quality is better! You can see the life in the food. These are just two reasons why I LOVE farmers markets.

Grocery list

Now what to do with the food? I admitted to not eating a few of these foods- how am I going to enjoy them?

Pen to paper and my food solutions unfold. I’m ready to go to the conventional grocery store! I’m supplementing my farmers market items with all that’s seen below :).

Grocery haul

This week I’ll have:

-3 morning green juices
-Ezekiel toast with almond butter (bought from last week’s food money)
-Bananas, kiwis, and strawberries to snack on
-Green/black tea at work (previously bought) and nighty night tea before bed time
-Salad with sliced radishes, chopped green onions, quinoa (great for fiber and protein), and avocado “dressing” with lime juice (previously bought)
-Mozzarella veggie quesadilla
-“Save the Swirled” ice cream #socialchange

IMG_4320

All this costs ~$45. I live on food stamps. I am here to show eating a FILLING and nutritionally dense diet on little money is possible. I even buy organic items! Here’s to cost-effective meal planning…

Faith✿

twitter @theflowrylife
theflowrylife@gmail.com
instagram @faith.lowry

One thought on “Farmers Market meal ideas 

Have a flowerista day! ✿

