Thanking My Roots


Dear Madison, WI,

Thank you for my education.

Thank you for saving my life.

Thank you for my first full-time “job.”

Thank you for teaching me lessons.

Thank you for your beauty-

Parks,

Bike paths,

+

Lakes.

Thank you for your food-

Donuts,

Cupcakes,

+

Bubble tea.

It’s been sweet and it’s been sour.

But I am me.

And I came here from parents and grandparents that let me be me.

Thank you for giving me the tools & freedom to continue letting me choose who I am.

One thought on “Thanking My Roots

Have a flowerista day! ✿

