The First Thing I Do in the Morning


What’s the first thing you do in the morning? Is it the same thing all of the time? Do you ‘just’ do whatever you need to, in no particular order? I’m asking all of these nosy questions, because how our mornings go set the tone for the rest of our day. And by that I mean how much we can get done in a day and how we approach everything in our day.

We can still try to make the rest of our day good from a bad morning, but don’t we want to try for a good day straight from waking up?

I mean, I do.

I’m finding that when I skip the first thing I do in the morning that I miss it. I notice it’s absence. I feel a little off… I’m not the same, not as focused, not as nice or open to others.

And when I do, do it, I’m like, “Ah, yes. I’m glad I took the time for that.” Sometimes this is an immediate reaction because it feels so damn good. Other times it’s a delayed reaction, maybe by even a few days.

Tricky, tricky, right? Or have you guessed what it is? Does it sound like the first thing you do in the morning?

I like it so much. It has made it’s presence in my life, and it has impacted me in a positive way… hm, hm, hmm.

It’s not food. It’s not a shower. It’s not exercise.

I can do it in bed.

It’s something often misunderstood and foreign.

It is…

Meditation. Give and take the first thing I do in the morning is meditate.

I started by sitting in a comfortable, upright posture (to not fall asleep) for 5 minutes in the morning.

I always inhale one big breath through my mouth with my eyes open and exhale through my mouth with a body shake to start.

Then on my second breath I breathe through my mouth with my eyes open once more and pay attention to the air temperature and how it feels entering my lungs and where I’m tight. After my exhale out of my mouth, I close my eyes.

Now I’m ready to inhale through my nose and expand my belly and exhale out of my nose and empty my belly.

I repeat this way until my timer chimes.

I moved my way up from 5 minutes to 7 minutes after one week and 7 minutes to 10 minutes after another week. I’ve been here at 10 minutes for a few months, but I’m writing today to say, I think it’s time for me to progress to 12 minutes.

And I think so because I had a beautiful 10 minutes and craved to do another 10 minutes. So I did and the second 10 minutes went even quicker and were just as pleasant.

Giving yourself time to just be, letting your thoughts wash over you, and redirecting your thoughts with each new breath is the most powerful tool to leading a happier life.

Breathe in.

Breathe out.

It’s the best two-step to become a master of your mind and your life.

I kindly dare you to see what unfolds from making your mind a friend and ally, and I encourage you to share this post with friends and family to have them participate in a three-week meditation challenge with you.

So what is the first thing you do in the morning?

I believe in you! I know you can create 5 minutes before that thing to do this challenge. :)

Have a flowerista day! ✿

