Why I Exercise…


‘Ew…”Exercise.” Is she going to tell me I need to exercise? Ugh… “Exercise,” I hate it. I don’t want to do it.’

wpid-wp-1448388767630.jpg

Nope, I’m not going to tell you that. That’s your deal. I am going to tell you…

I am no longer exercising because I think I’m fat. I am no longer exercising because I’m part of a group sport. And, I am no longer exercising because I want to be beautiful.

I am now exercising because I want to feel well mentally– feeling strong, beautiful, and potentially living longer are huge, HUGE ass bonuses… Oh ha, maybe a big butt is a bonus too?!

But let’s get serious.

I’m a girl that appears from the outside to not have anything ‘off’ with her. Yes, people think I’m extremely quiet and that bothers some, but I don’t seem to have anything to be depressed or anxious about.

Everything seems OK.

It turns out that I am constantly fighting for my happiness and calmness.

I’ve been fighting so hard that people will comment on my ‘joy’ and ‘positive energy.’

Which is kind of awesome that I am having that effect on people.

Though, I’m still fighting over here. I’m picking my mind up out of despair and helplessness and talking to myself, telling myself to breathe- slow down- I’m ok, you can do this.

I have social anxiety.

And my bouts of depression stems from my social anxiety. It’s a sad, little quiet life I live a lot of days. Even though! I am an introvert and love me some quiet time.

It definitely feels like a catch 22, 90% of my life.

This is me: I’m alone, but I’m too anxious to talk to people. Ugh, I’m alone, but I don’t have the energy to deal with people.

A lot of clarity came to me through therapy. I feel better about myself, but I’m still sharpening my tools to fight this.

Sweating, moving my body, and using my muscles brings my mind and body peace. I am able to more effectively breathe- slow down, and believe I am ok and will make it through whatever challenge I am facing.

Have a flowerista day! ✿

